RCHS Concert Band Members Selected for EKU Honors Band Program

Recently members of the RCHS Concert Band were selected through an audition process for the 2014 EKU High School Honors Band Program.   RCHS had a record number of 17 students who were admitted into the program.  These students along with 400 other young musicians from high schools in Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, and Tennessee spent this past weekend in extensive rehearsals in preparation for a culminating concert given at the EKU Arts Center on February 22nd.  Students worked under clinicians Dave Weber, Director of Bands at Boone Co. High School, Mr. Dee Bishop, Director of Bands, Tates Creek High School, and Dr. Andrew Boyson, composer, conductor and graduate of the Eastman School of Music.  The honor bands performend a wide range of contemporary and classic concert band literature and were afforded the opportunity to participate in master classes with EKU Faculty and students as well as attending a concert performance given by the EKU Wind Symphony.


Maroon Honor Band Members-Sierra Smith, Allison Renner, Aaron Pevley, Jessica Harris, Samarah Lovins, Faith Saylor, Amelia Berryman, Zach Hayes, and Greg Daugherty RCHS Director.


Honors Wind Symphony Members-Logan Anglin, Ryan Martin, Cassidy Adkins, and Micheal Brewer with Mr. Daugherty


White Honor Band Members-Corey Parkerson, Dylan Hillard, Shebly Brown, Shelby Ponder, and Caitlin Daugherty with Mr. Daugherty


Permanent link to this article: http://rockcastle.kyschools.us/blog/rchs-concert-band-members-selected-for-eku-honors-band-program/