RCHS JROTC 21st Annual Dine-In

Rockcastle County JROTC held their 21st annual dine-in on Friday, April 13th. The dine-in contained an opening statement by the previous battalion commander, Cadet Colonel Clare Beichler, a slideshow of all the major battalion activities in the 2017-18 year, the senior slideshow that recognizes the graduating seniors and their parents, a dinner provided by Limestone Grille and catered by the Rockcastle FCCLA, the final award ceremony presented by Captain Jeffery Thompson, members of the American Legion, and the Daughters of the American Revolution, and the final change-of-coJROTCmmand, which includes the previous battalion commander, Cadet Clare Beichler, transferring command to the new battalion commander, Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Amber Doan. At the end, there was also a special speech given by Cadet Clare Beichler reflecting on how the JROTC program changed her life and the memories she gained along the way, as well as congratulating Captain Jeffery Thompson for his 11 years instructing at the Rockcastle County JROTC and wishing him well on his retirement. A specialized plaque was presented to Captain Jeffery Thompson as well, commemorating his service to the Rockcastle County JROTC.

The awards and the cadets that received them are as follows:

Essay Award

  • -Clare Beichler
  • -David Peavie

The Department of Superior Cadet

  • -Madison Bryant
  • -Richie Clouse
  • -David Peavie
  • -Benton Kuntz
  • -Clare Beichler

The American Legion Award for Scholastic Excellence

  • -Steven Rowe

The Eastern Kentucky University Deans’ Achievement Award

  • -Clare Beichler

The American Legion Military Excellence Award

  • -Amber Doan

The U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award

  • -Jacob Lamb

The Outstanding Citizen Award

  • -Matthew Gadd

The Daughters of the American Revolution Award

  • -Shetarra Prickett

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

  • -Benjamin Tyler

The Association of the United States Army Award

  • -Aleya Powell

The Military Officers Association Award

  • -Clare Beichler

The National Sojourners JROTC Award

  • -Jake Neeley

The Reserve Officer Association Award

  •  -Larry Vanwinkle

The Retired Enlisted Association

  • -Benton Kuntz

The Military Order of the World Wars Award of Merit

  • -Paige Fowler

Military Order of the Purple Heart Award

  • -David Peavie

Veterans of Foreign Wars Award

  • -Connor Noble

82nd Airborne Association Award

  • -Chanler Cole

Good Conduct Award

  • -Brittney McGuire
  • -Zachary Robinson

The Army JROTC Leadership Award

  • -JJ Clouse
  • -Andrew Didelot
  • -Zachary Fetters
  • -Zachary Poyle
  • -Eli Price
  • -Sarah Pride

The Army JROTC Commendation Award

  • -Selena Burdine
  • -Cager Doan
  • -Eva Jackson
  • -Cody Morris
  • -Kensie Sheffield
  • -Alexis Stewart
  • -Tyler Wood

Permanent link to this article: http://rockcastle.kyschools.us/blog/rchs-jrotc-21st-annual-dine-in/