RCHS Academic Team Sets School Record at Governor’s Cup State Finals

The RCHS Academic Team wrapped up their season with a record-breaking performance at the Governor’s Cup State Finals on March 16th-18th in Louisville. The Quick Recall team made it into the second round before losing out to Daviess County. This placement tied the 1989 Quick Recall team for the highest Quick Recall placement in school history. Overall the school sent the Quick Recall team and seven individuals to the State Finals. This number of RCHS students competing for the State Governor’s Cup almost doubled the previous record of four individuals set in 2016 and matched by last year’s team.  The seven students who placed in the 2019 State Finals include two seniors, three juniors, and two freshmen, which is impressive as there are no grade divisions at the State Finals, and a majority of the competitors that make it to that level are seniors. These placements are out of a field of 960 of the top competitors in each subject from almost every private and public school in the state. In Language Arts, Kristen Taylor placed 28th and Tessa Pickle Placed 18th. In Arts and Humanities, Aden Amburgey placed 32nd and Tarrylton Dunn placed 24th. In Science, Elizabeth Mikeworth placed 21st. In Written Composition, Bailey Cromer placed 13th and, in Social Studies, team captain, Katie Vance, placed 6th, which is the second-highest placement of any student in RCHS history.

The team and their coaches, Herbie Brock, Morgan Taylor, and Courtney Brock would like to thank the community for their support throughout the year and to take this opportunity to ask you to encourage any gifted young person in Rockcastle County to give Academic Team a try. Membership on the team is free and all three elementary schools, our middle school, and our high school have teams that are constantly seeking students to help the teams go even further next year.

Academic Team
Members of the Governor’s Cup State Finalist RCHS Academic Team: Front row from left: Elizabeth Mikeworth, Aden Amburgey, Katie Vance, Tessa Pickle. Middle row from left: Bailey Cromer, Kristen Taylor, Audrey Childress, Tarrylton Dunn, Leann Tankersley. Back row from left: Alyssa Lunsford, Hayden Robinson, Dalton Childress, Jonathan Cain, Drew Bullock, John Asher. Not pictured: Nora Pulliam